Olfactory groove meningiomas

February 15, 2009

“Olfactory groove meningiomas are benign tumors that grow along the midline floor of the anterior cranial fossa. Delayed diagnosis is the rule rather than the exception. Despite advances in imaging and therapeutic measures, the average size of these tumors at the time of surgical resection has not changed over the past few decades. 

Olfactory groove meningiomas comprise about 14% of all basal meningiomas. The peak incidence is between ages 40 and 60 years, and twice as many women as men are affected.

Cranial radiation is a definite risk factor for developing meningiomas. Patients with a history of cranial radiation therapy have a 4 times greater rate of meningioma formation compared with the general population.

Surgical resection is the treatment of choice for most olfactory groove meningiomas. A bifrontal craniotomy is the preferred surgical approach. Using this technique, the bony skull covering the anterior frontal lobes is removed and the dural layer opened. Through an interhemispheric approach, the tumor, adjacent brain parenchyma, and the vasculature are visualized. The blood supply to the tumor is identified and detached. The tumor is removed by debulking along with the affected piece of underlying dura and bone. The dural layer is then closed using an allograft substitute, and the bone flap is replaced. Radiation therapy is generally reserved for recurrences that are refractory to surgical resection.

Recovery is typically slow, but as the edema in the frontal lobes subsides, the patient’s clinical status improves. It is only at this time that any residual permanent neurologic deficit can be assessed.

Morbidity and mortality associated with operative treatment of olfactory groove meningiomas have improved greatly over the past 3 decades. A 15% mortality rate reported about 20 years ago has decreased to nearly 0% as a result of current microsurgical techniques and advances in perioperative care.

Olfactory groove meningiomas, despite being slow growing and relatively uncommon, are among the largest tumors found intracranially. Advances in diagnostic and therapeutic measures notwithstanding, these tumors continue to grow and achieve astonishing sizes before they are discovered. This is because the tumor is located in a relatively “silent” area of the brain, which allows the mass to continue to grow slowly before neurologic decline is evident.”

Sources

http://www.residentandstaff.com/issues/articles/2006-02_09.asphttp://www.brighamandwomens.org/neurosurgery/Meningioma/Meningiomafacts.aspx

*Every source states different statistics. These just happen to be the ones I found today.

10 Responses to “Olfactory groove meningiomas”


  1. [...] foot of my bed. Dr Muller proceeded to tell them that “This is is the lady who presented with the olfactory grove meningioma and Foster Kennedy Syndrome.” Forget the interns, I was the one asking the questions, “What [...]

  2. Cheryl Says:

    I had an Olfactory Meningioma removed in July 2011.

  3. Stella Says:

    Cheryl. How was your surgery and recovery? Where did you have the surgery done and by whom. Thanks! Recently diagnosed

  4. Rhonda Says:

    Stella, I had one removed dec 2010. I had the best care I could of ever imagine. I went to Dr. Jensen at the Huntsman Cancer Hospital in Salt Lake Utah. Keep postitive thoughts through this all!

  5. Rufus Says:

    My mum had a successful bifrontal craniotomy to remove olfactory groove meningioma on 6th July 12.It was done at AIC Kijabe Hospital,Kenya.The recovery is great.Glory to God.

  6. Sarah Rawlings Says:

    I had a lemon-sized olfactory groove meningioma removed in July 2007 (after several years of severe headaches and a grand mal seizure), and regular MRIs have shown no recurrence. My surgery was performed at Maine Medical Center by Dr. D’Angelo. Total loss of sense of smell accompanied by occasional phantosmia (phantom olfactory hallucinations, which are annoying but not too disruptive). Minor seizure activity (so minor as to be undetectable by me) has continued but has not presented any real difficulty or problems in my life. No cognitive or any other impairments. Hospital stay was 4 1/2 days and I returned to work and graduate school 6 weeks after the surgery. I feel very fortunate to have received the care that I did.

  7. Rebecca Says:

    I’d had severe headaches and depression in recent years, as well as the beginning of some personality changes. I’d been under severe stress-a child in remission after a difficult battle with cancer and the recent death of my brother in a car crash. I’d assumed my symptoms were caused by grief and emotional fatigue but my increasing inability to focus was alarming. I knew something was wrong with my brain. On Sept.12 of this year,2012, I began having seizures. Six were observed by my terrified family and E.R. doctors, as well as a heart attack, caused by Tako-Tsubo cardiomyopathy,(broken heart syndrome). I was unconscious for several days as I was stabilized and was subsequently diagnosed with menengioma. I had a bi frontal craniotomy on September 24 Although my neurosurgeon couldn’t tell before the operation, afterward it was determined to be grade1. My recovery has been swift and in spite of dire-sounding possible outcomes, I am, as far as anyone can tell, intact. I owe a huge debt of gratitude to my Neurosurgeon, Dr. Benjamin Ling and ultimate Glory to the Great Physician who has given me a new lease on life. God is good, all the time!

    Rebecca


  8. Rufus Am a Ugandan adult living in Uganda. Am about to under gone Olfactory gloove meningioma surgery in a weeks time in Uganda by a camp team visiting Mulago What do advice me

  9. Ciku Says:

    My dad has just been diagnosed with an Olfactory groove meningioma and the post from a fellow Kenyan about the AIC Kijabe Hospital has made me feel that I’m not alone.

  10. Susan Says:

    I had a Olfactory groove Meningioma removed August 26th, 2013. Six months later and I’m still having a slow recovery. I’m going to a headache clinic next week. Praying that they can help me as I have a headache 24/7. I’m also experiencing tingling and pain on the top of my head. I’m also being treated for seizures post-op.I can no longer smell or taste anything which is somewhat depressing. My Neurosurgean was Dr. Margaret E. NIchols in Joplin, MO. and I had my operation at Freeman Health Systems in Joplin.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

