Last day at work for a while

January 23, 2009

So today is my last day at work for a while. I am not desperate to get out of work like I might be when heading away on vacation, today means that surgery is only days away. I used to count the time in weeks, now I am down to mere days. The waiting is excruciating, and while I am dreading walking into that hospital, I just want it to be over.

In less than a week I can no longer say, “I have a brain tumour, what the fuck is YOUR problem?” I will then be able to say, “What the fuck are you staring at? Never seen a craniotomy scar before?” I can’t wait to say that to the first person whose gaze lingers on my head for too long. I hope I have a friend with me who I can laugh hysterically afterwards. 

Sorry about my profanities. The number of swear words I use has a direct correlation to the number of days left before surgery. Fuckedy, fuck fuck.

Leave a comment