Visiting St. Michael’s Hospital

January 23, 2009

I expect visitors! Hospitals are thoroughly boring places to sit around in. The four hours during pre-op testing this week was bad enough. Four to five days? OMG. Visiting hours are daily from 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. and only 2 people at a time per patient. The website so coyly says that if you are experiencing fever, cold or flu like symptoms, diarrhea or vomiting, please do not visit. I’ll forgive your absence if this applies to you.

This is where it is and make sure you go in the Victoria Street entrance, and use the elevators right there. Not all elevators go to all floors, its very confusing place! 

Only Roger and Dad will be allowed to see me on the first day when I am in ICU, but then hopefully I will be moved to the ward the next day. Roger can let you all know my room number.

Oh and if you see an older English man around, that’s my Dad. He’ll probably be cracking jokes with the nurses.

6 Responses to “Visiting St. Michael’s Hospital”

  1. Margaret Says:

    Good luck Sarah. We won’t be visiting, but we will be thinking of you all day and afterwards too.
    Margaret

  2. Heather J Says:

    Thinking of you!

  3. Keltie Says:

    I’m sending you happy, healing vibes Sarah. My sister in law is an ICU nurse at St. Mike’s so I’ve told her that no one else is important and all nurses should be looking after you. Her name is Dana Neville, throw her name around.

  4. SJR Says:

    Dana Neville? OK, if I can remember my own name, I’ll throw her name out!

  5. Keltie Says:

    She works in the medical ICU, but she’s put out an APB to her neuro ICU cronies to check in on you. She isn’t working until Sunday but I’ve asked to to pop in on you then to say hi. She’s a good person to know in terms of navigating the ins and outs of that hospital.

  6. Julie Says:

    We will be visiting once your home. With baked goods, of course.


Leave a Reply

