Dog walking prevents cabin fever, and other learnings

February 8, 2009

img_2886

  1. Despite what society tells you, a brain tumour is not necessarily a life sentence, it’s merely a glitch in the road (see #7).
  2. Waiting for treatment is a MILLION times worse than the treatment itself. Living it is also much easier than watching it happen from the outside.
  3. I am not as squeamish as I thought and am now perfectly comfortable in hospitals… not that I have any intention of going back to one anytime soon. 
  4. Your real friends float to the surface when you have staples crossing your head. 
  5. People have good intentions, but many are melodramatic and some sign up with the pity parade. I can’t tolerate any of that fuss. *YAWN* Step-up and get on with it, that’s my philosophy.
  6. It makes me want to barf when people talk in metaphors as if they are a walking Hallmark Card. 
  7. I am Mrs Positive and find anything else greatly insulting.
  8. I am an energetic person and always will be. There is a reason they let me out of hospital 2.5 days after a craniotomy! I didn’t feel sick before, and I don’t feel sick after. 
  9. Always listen to your body. If I didn’t, I would still be walking around with a “pinched nerve” and an undiagnosed brain tumour.
5 Responses to “Dog walking prevents cabin fever, and other learnings”

  1. Keltie Says:

    I love this list, all of it!

  2. Margaret Says:

    Good attitude Mrs. Positive. Good to see you getting back to yourself as the days pass. Bet that those walks with the dog are the best medicine that money can buy.

  3. Jim Rossner Says:

    Sarah, I’m enjoying your blog and am amazed at the rate of your recovery. I had a craniotomy on 29/2/08 and was in hospital for 2 & half weeks after. 11+ months on and I have only just returned to work. My best advice is to keep listening to your body and recognise when you are fatigued! It may happen more now you’re off the steroids or if you require ‘mop up’ radiation treatment. Take it easy and feel free to e-mail; jjr001@hotkey.net.au
    Jim Rossner
    Brisbane, Australia

  4. SJR Says:

    Thanks for your comment Jim. I belong to a Yahoo Meningioma group and hearing everyones stories, it is certainly amazing how differently we all react to a craniotomy. I do feel more tired now I am off the steroids, although I am glad to be breaking free of all the other side effects that they bring. I am usually a busy bee who can juggle a million things at once. Can’t do that now, but I am enjoying the simplicity of one thing at a time for once 🙂

  5. Michele Says:

    Sarah, i had a Craniotomy back in May 2014 to remove a large Meningioma also, I take my hat off to you, i have always wanted to write a blog but have been unable to do so, Yours is absolutely brilliant. I especially love this post, It is just exactly what i feel and would have written if i hadn’t had so much brain fog at the time. Keep well


Leave a Reply

