Foster Kennedy Syndrome

February 17, 2009

I remember my neurosurgeon standing by my bedside in neuro ICU, his interns (SO many interns) huddled around the foot of my bed. He said something like, “This is is the lady who presented with the olfactory grove meningioma and ____ _____ syndrome.” Forget the interns, I asked ” What syndrome? What’s that? You never said anything about that!” Then I promptly forgot everything he said.

Well then smashedpea’s blog reminded me, Foster Kennedy Syndrome. It refers to a constellation of findings associated with tumors of the frontal lobe. Apparently it is quite exciting for neuro medical types. I had no symptoms of it before, but I do now, aka, no sense of smell “Anosmia”.

Leave a Reply

