Buddies

March 26, 2009

 

img_2897

This is my dog Chukker, we are buddies. He has hung out with me every single day that I have been sick, actually he has followed me everywhere from the toilet to taking the garbage out. In return he has been thoroughly spoiled. 

It has been proven that owning a dog helps lower your blood pressure and your cholesterol. Pets make us feel happy and help us to deal with stress, which is a major source of illness.

Dogs can also help seniors, one study* observed neural activity in seniors while they walked or interacted with a dog. It turned out that walking with a dog gave seniors a boost in parasympathetic nervous system activity, which is good because the parasympathetic nervous system helps calm and rest the body.

Speaking of which, it’s time for his walk…

*I have no reference, I have slapped my own wrist.

3 Responses to “Buddies”

  1. Ken Hurd Says:

    Awww Chukker…. Such a good boy!

    I literally don’t know what I’d do without my dog anymore – An essential part of my life.

  2. SIAN Says:

    dogs really are your best friends!

  3. Margaret Says:

    Love the picture .. you look awesome. I have enjoyed every minute of your blog. Unbelieveable the marvels of todays world. Good luck on April 2nd.


Leave a Reply

