Be a super hero: Give blood

March 27, 2009

picture-41

I have to say, I have so much respect for everyone involved in the world of medicine. It really seems like the work of super heros, but such lofty status is within your reach. GIVE BLOOD.* You could save a life, and one day you may need someone to return the favour for you. 

I received blood during my surgery and wish I could donate in return, alas because I grew up in the UK I am not allowed due to Canada’s concerns with vCJD.

So maybe someone could donate for me? See it as a challenge 🙂

*For readers in the UK.

Update: April 3rd, 2009

The nurse who told me I received blood during surgery was thoroughly wrong. My surgeon told me yesterday (and checked my surgery notes to confirm) that I lost no more than 2 thimbles of blood, and tolerated surgery very well. You should still give blood though 🙂

One Response to “Be a super hero: Give blood”

  1. Lesly Finn Says:

    Hallo Sarah – it is great to find you as I am hungry for any information I can find being newly diagnosed with meningioma near the base of the brain.

    Thank you for this great blog.


Leave a Reply

