The neurosurgeon says…

April 2, 2009

The tumour was 100% removed, no residual tumour remains.

Pathology states that the tumour was definitely benign & WHO Grade 1.

The cerebral edema is now 100% gone.

Incision has healed perfectly.

I can now drink caffeine, and alcohol. Can’t go too crazy on the alcohol though as it lowers seizure threshold. I can also exercise without restrictions, just have to build up like anyone who has been off exercise for a few months.

Also…

The fact I am having olfactory hallucinations means my brain has some unusual electrical activity going on, it’s probably re-jigging itself. Add to this the fact I can taste food means that my sense of smell will most likely come back. Apparently if your sense of smell has truly gone, food tastes like straw. Being a neurological issue it could take a year the prognosis looks good!

I am one seriously happy lady! My life of riley is over though, bittersweet, bittersweet.

6 Responses to “The neurosurgeon says…”

  1. Margaret Says:

    All sounds so very good. Go slowly and yes, for the fourth time, please don’t overdo it!! An experience like this definitely puts things in to prospective. Enjoy!!

  2. SJR Says:

    This is awesome, jump up and down, and skip everywhere kinda news! I am sick of taking it easy lol, with no medical restrictions, I’m getting back to life!


  3. […] was just over a week ago now that the neurosurgeon gave me the all clear saying I could get back to life as normal. No […]

  4. debbie holt Says:

    Sarah, can you tell what you are eating with your eyes closed. Can you taste that good. All i taste are things like bitter, sour and spicy but i cant tell what they are. thanks

  5. SJR Says:

    That’s an interesting test Debbie. I am going to try it!

  6. magggie t Says:

    Sarah
    I just ran into your blog here at work. I’ve been trying to do some research on craniotomy.. I am having meningioma removed. and you are about the only person I can tell that I am scared out of my mind.
    I can show that I am scared to my children. when I get home I will find your blog again and read it. seems very interesting and seeing how you recovered has made me feel better. I have one pituitary tumor and the other one is above that. dr says I need a pretrial craniotomy.


Leave a Reply

