Photograph your progress

May 11, 2009

prophecy

Today I was reviewing all the photos I have been taking during recovery. It’s amazing to see the progression from “normal” person (with a brain tumour), to post-op pictures, right through to today.

I looked so happy with staples crossing my head, and am even happier now to be able to show off my dent, I pretty much force people to feel the metal pins on my forehead. Hey, if you have war wounds you should flaunt them!

So, if you are facing the same journey as I did try and take photos throughout. On a day you are feeling sorry for yourself you can look back and remind yourself how freakin’ tough your are, and how far you’ve come.

I found this prophetic photo today, it must have been taken about a year ago not long before I got married. If you haven’t worked it out I am looking directly at the site of my craniotomy.

5 Responses to “Photograph your progress”

  1. Jacquie Says:

    Thank you for creating this site. I found out today that mine has continued to grow and I will need surgery. I am scared and feel like someone has punched me in the stomache. Your site has helped alot.

  2. Brian Says:

    Hi Sarah!

    I just wish to applaud your bravery and willingness to share your brain tumor experience with the world. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about your experiences and checking out the pics. Hopefully all is well with your continued recovery, and I invite you to check out my own brain tumor blog whenever you might have the chance. You can find it at “legallylobotomized.blogspot.com” if you like. I also have brain pics! Let us know how you’re doing when you get around to it.

    Best,

    Brian

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Hi Sarah,
    Kinda funny, i feel the same way about our war wounds! Flaunt them! i have been toying with the idea of getting a skull and crossbones tattoo somewhere on my head,just cause i am such a badass having gone through a freaking craniotomy! Sometimes I think it is totally insane that i lived through all of this, dramatically speaking! ๐Ÿ™‚ I mean, when you imagine all the things that can happen to you in life, good and bad, not once did i ever think I would have my skull cracked open (on purpose) and have my brain operated on! WHAT!!??! craziness.

    To anyone recently diagnosed with a brain tumor requiring a craniotomy, I was scared out of my mind. Pre-surgery Xanax was a life saver. My weakest moments were at night, laying in bed, where my mind would race about the possibilities. I also started seeing an accupuncturist pre-surgery to help with anxiety and i really think that has helped as well. And do not be afraid of the pain, it honestly wasn’t that bad. For me the worst part was how sore and stiff my jaw was, since there were muscles along the side of my head that were cut. When i woke up I could barely open my mouth.

    sarah – just curious…..are you/did you experience any perceived or real memory loss post-op? I feel like I cannot remember much, short-term memory wise and I am trying not to make myself anxious about it. Kinda difficult to do though.

    Thanks again for your blog!

    -Jennifer

  4. eddy Says:

    HI THERE i HAD SURGERY MAY 4TH 2011 ST MICHEALS TOO WENT WELL JUST WONDERING HOW LONG DID U NEED TAKE DILANTIN? I HATE THIS PILLS SO HARD SLEEP AND GIVES ME HEADACHES, SURGEON SAID I NEED TAKE 300MG AT NIGHT FOR 6 WEEKS, IS THAT WHAT YOU DID?

  5. SJR Says:

    Hi Eddy, I’m so glad it went well. St Mikes is an incredible hospital. I am trying to remember how long I was on dilantin… I think I was off it but the time I left hospital which was within 2-3 days, but certainly within 1 week. However I had shown no sign of seizure before or after. Everyone is a bit different, but I guess if you look at the big picture, 6 weeks isn’t too long ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope it goes by quickly!


Leave a Reply

